Project: Butterflies on the runaway

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I starting making butterflies a few years ago for my sister’s wedding. I had to create 120 pieces with 12 different models, so I choose the prettiest but also the easiest ones.  I haven’t gotten to this final stage of a butterfly before now, because I made my own variation of the main blueprint so I can still get that “awwww…that’s so cute!” effect without spending 30 minutes on one.

I liked the model so much that I decided to make something wearable. I used a red/purple waxed paper and double taped it. I found some nice material from my mum’s secret stash and covered it.  I have to say it wasn’t a picnic,  I had to make the finish touch using a super glue so the wings could stick to their position.

I could say: blood, sweat and tears were shed, but I would be lying 🙂 I will improve my project and come back with better results.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

