Project:Sand filled syrup bottle

Yes, as I wrote in the title I used a syrup bottle from IKEA :).  I think it was cranberry flavored. I really liked the bottle and I wanted to keep it, but not in a functional way but rather in a decorative one.

First, I tried removing the labels but apparently IKEA doesn’t want you to do that because after five different methods I was only able to remove the paper but not the glue. It looked awful and I had to find a solution  – wrap it with string. I bought a nice dark grey string with just a bit of colored thread in it.

My vision of using curly willow branches is never ending and this project is no exception. I bought a turquoise spray so I can color more and easy. As you can see, I was so psyched about it that I even colored some sand I found (FYI, I learned this is not the way to obtain colored sand).

It seemed it was missing something, so I added some origami cherry blossoms, made from  patterned paper. For filling, I used 3 types of sand (white, black and handmade turquoise).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

